Compare
podswitch vs FireCut
FireCut is a plug-in for Premiere Pro and DaVinci Resolve with many editing tools, including podcast camera switching on its Pro plans. podswitch focuses on multicam podcasts: it decides every cut from each speaker’s microphone, uploads the audio, not the video, and also supports Final Cut Pro.
Checked on 31 October 2026 from each company’s own website. Features and prices change, so follow the source links for the current details. Prices are quoted as each website showed them, in its own currency. Spotted something out of date? Tell us and we will correct it.
Who each one suits
FireCut
Creators who edit in Premiere Pro or DaVinci Resolve and want silence cutting, filler removal, captions, B-roll and camera switching in one plug-in.
podswitch
Multicam video podcasts recorded with a microphone per speaker, where you want the cut and the clips as timelines in Final Cut Pro, Premiere Pro or DaVinci Resolve, without uploading your video.
Features and prices
| Feature | podswitch | FireCut |
|---|---|---|
| Price, as shown on each website | Free plan. Paid plans from £7.99 a month, or £79.99 a year. A single project for £29.99. Prices in pounds, including VAT. | Premiere Pro: Starter $19, Pro $34 and Max $59 a month, less when billed yearly. Podcast camera switching starts on Pro. DaVinci Resolve: a free tier, Captions $12.99 and Pro $20.99 a month, and Max $59.99 a month. Camera switching is on Pro. Prices exclude sales tax; 7-day free trial. |
| Automatic camera switching for multicam podcasts | Yes. From each speaker’s microphone | Partly. On its Pro and Max plans, inside Premiere Pro or Resolve |
| Final Cut Pro timeline | Yes. A multicam clip and a pre-cut timeline | No. Plug-ins for Premiere Pro and DaVinci Resolve only |
| Premiere Pro timeline | Yes. Cut timeline, one track per camera | Yes. Works inside Premiere Pro |
| DaVinci Resolve timeline | Yes. Cut timeline, one track per camera | Yes. Works inside Resolve, including the free version |
| Video stays on your computer | Yes. The audio is uploaded, not the video | Not stated. Not stated on their website |
| AI picks short clips | Yes. On paid plans, with a hook, a reason and a score for each | Partly. Highlights from long videos on paid plans |
| Clip shapes | Yes. 9:16, 1:1 and 16:9, framing set per camera | Partly. Vertical (9:16) highlights |
| Styled, animated captions | Yes. Six presets, every detail adjustable, word highlight | Partly. Word-by-word animated captions on paid plans |
| Clips as editable timelines in your editor | Yes. Final Cut Pro, Premiere Pro and DaVinci Resolve | Yes. Highlights are built as sequences in your editor |
| Render a clip to MP4 without uploading the video | Yes. In your browser (beta) | Yes. Exported from your editor |
| Transcript downloads | Yes. TXT, SRT and WebVTT, on paid plans | Partly. SRT and VTT export with its Resolve captions tools |
| Your recordings are never used to train AI | Yes. Never, on any plan | Not stated. Not stated on their website |
✓ yes · ◐ partly or on some plans · ✕ no · ? not stated on their website
Where FireCut is stronger
- Works inside Premiere Pro or DaVinci Resolve, including the free version of Resolve.
- Many more tools: silence and filler removal, repetition, profanity, B-roll, music, chapters, zooms and titles.
- Captions in more than 50 languages, with SRT and VTT export on Resolve.
- A free Resolve tier for silence removal, and a 7-day trial on paid plans.
Where podswitch is stronger
- Final Cut Pro is supported, as a multicam clip and a pre-cut timeline. FireCut’s plug-ins are for Premiere Pro and DaVinci Resolve.
- Built for multicam podcasts: switching follows who holds the floor on each microphone, and the dialogue mix has mic bleed removed.
- Your video stays on your computer and the audio is uploaded, not the video; recordings are never used to train AI.
- AI clip suggestions come with a hook, a reason and a score, in 9:16, 1:1 or 16:9.
- Prices in pounds include VAT; FireCut’s US dollar prices exclude sales tax.
podswitch prices come from our pricing page.
Sources
FireCut features checked on 31 October 2026, prices on 31 October 2026, from its own website:
Questions
Does FireCut switch cameras for podcasts?
Yes. On Premiere Pro, podcast camera switching is part of the Pro and Max plans; on DaVinci Resolve it is part of the Pro plan’s multi-track tools. podswitch switches cameras from each speaker’s microphone and exports for Final Cut Pro, Premiere Pro and DaVinci Resolve.
Does FireCut work with Final Cut Pro?
FireCut’s pricing page lists plug-ins for Premiere Pro and DaVinci Resolve, and a browser app for shorts. We found no Final Cut Pro version. podswitch exports a Final Cut Pro multicam clip with a pre-cut timeline.
Which has more editing tools?
FireCut. It covers silences, filler words, repetition, profanity, captions, B-roll, music, chapters, zooms and more. podswitch does the multicam cut, the dialogue mix with bleed removed, and on paid plans social clips with captions and the transcript.
How much do they cost?
On 31 October 2026 FireCut’s Premiere Pro plans were $19, $34 and $59 a month (less billed yearly) and its Resolve plans started with a free tier, all excluding sales tax. podswitch has a free plan and paid plans priced in pounds, including VAT.
See it on your own episode.
Read how podswitch decides each cut, or try it free.